Importance of Hot Oil Treatments

2 Jul

For the last three months or so, I have been exclusively doing deep conditioning treatments to my hair prior to washing it to retain moisture and keep my hair soft. Yet, a few days later, my hair is dry again. It is because I am not using hot oil treatments as often as I should be.

Why, as a natural hair sista, should you use hot oil treatments?

Hot oil treatments will help you prevent a dry scalp before using shampoo, and the hot oil helps mend split ends and smooths them down. Using hot oil treatments for Afro hair is extremely beneficial and can minimize damage from daily combing and styling. You can use jojoba oils, almond oils, olive oils for hot oil treatments or buy the ready-made ones at store (those are worth the $$ too.)

I’m doing a hot oil treatment today before my work week because I don’t want to deal with hair breakage from dry ends. I am using rosemary oil, olive oil, shea/coconut butter and coconut oil in my hot oil treatment .I then leave it on my hair for 1-2 hours, put conditioner in my hair for 20 minutes and rinse with apple cider vinegar. No, I do not use shampoo neither do I deep condition.

Using hot oils helps penetrate our dry, thick hair. After using it, I do not feel my hair is too oily but it is well moisturized. Since I have a leave-in conditioner, I am able to do hot oil treatments more often (once a week).

I rocked a fabulous hair do for Pride–something new–and I just loved the versatility of my natural, Black hair. This wee, to combat the humidity I will be rocking my hair in a bun! Not only do I protect my dry ends, but it will be stylish as well!

I leave my bun in overnight and secure with bobby pins so in the morning, I don’t have to do the style all over again. When it gets too messy, I usually redo it. Happy hair styling!

Leave a Reply

