My Hair Growth Secret

1 Feb

I know it sounds absurd, but I rubbed my scalp down with Vick’s Vapour Rub yesterday. Yes, it is for colds and it definitely works in helping you breathe better but when I looked closely at the bottle I noticed it contained three hair-stimulating ingredients: camphor, menthol and eucalyptus oil. These are best for the scalp, which needs stimulating. It’s a good way to wake up your sleeping hair cells! I rubbed it on, twisted my hair as usual for bed and oiled my ends…but when I began to sleep, OH BOY, did my head BURN with the goodness of Vicks. It burned in a good way–not like a perm. More like a soothing minty way. And I could really smell the Vicks smell. So I decided I could massage this strong concoction in my hair prior to washing it out so I’m not left with very strong burning and the insane scent.

My hair has been fuller so I see it is growing, and I am really hoping using Vicks will help stimulate a few inches of hair growth. It is all just commitment and patience, though. You have to commit to moisturizing and protecting your hair, and using the right products and be patient because black hair grows…but not at the speed of life unless you were born with a special gift.

One Response to “My Hair Growth Secret”

  1. Latissa December 30, 2012 at 10:11 am #

    I am recently trying to grow my hair out to see how long it will grow for a change. I’ve been cutting and dying my hair since junior high and I am thirty one now, any way I have been doing alot of research and I am excited about this new journey. I was just laying in bed and it popped in my head about putting vapor rub on scalp as a stimulater,so I googled it and was kind of suprised ( but not really because people will try almost anything, including myself,as long as its not too bad) that people have actually tried it! I really dont think it can be harmful and can see how it will be very beneficial. I am going to try it, but I will probably wash it out later that night or next morning.

Leave a Reply

