The Twist Challenge

17 Dec

After my hair became unbelievably dry from my Afro yesterday, I decided today to twist it in two strands and leave it like that for as long as I can. I have never done this. I usually untwist it in the morning and put my hair in an Afro puff. But this is too much for my delicate strands. I want to give my hair a break and see how long I can wear my twists for–outside of the house. Yes, to work, to clubs, to the grocery store–everywhere. I am basically paralyzed with fear. My hair is short and my twists are all different sizes and lengths, some thin and some bunchy. It looks horrible, to be honest–but I know my hair will be much healthier when I undo them without me manipulating, combing and touching it every day.

How long have you had twists in your hair for? 3 days? 5? I think if I last a week and a half, it would be like a hair marathon but especially with the dry, cold weather–I can’t think of a better way to let my hair just take a break. It is well known black hair grows longer and better when left alone. Retaining growth by keeping your hair in twists means you’ll see longer, stronger hair that’s not breaking from every day stressors. It’s going to promote softer hair too. My hair feels like a dry dish sponge right now :(. Of course, when I feel the need to rake my hands through my hair I will take down my twists, but even if  I manage to keep them protected for the weekend, it’s a start, right?

The main reason I needed to twist my hair and give it a break is because of its thickness. It was difficult to care for my hair properly with the density of hair. Even though I am elated to be a natural hair gal, dealing with the thickness of my hair isn’t always simple. I know it is detrimental to comb my dry hair and my fingers do not detangle the thick hair well, but by separating the hair into strands for twisting–it solves the problem immediately. In a few days (or a few weeks) when I take down my hair, it is stretched and the hair is smoother making the thickness  of our texture easier to manage. Whenever hair is driving you crazy, give yourself a vacation and put your hair up in braids or twists for a few days. When you take it down and you see soft, stronger curls–you’ll be in love with your curlies all over again 🙂

 

2 Responses to “The Twist Challenge”

  1. Monica December 22, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    I try to wear my twist as long as possible. I’ve gone 2-3 weeks. I set them on rods and create up doos after the first week.

Leave a Reply

