Afro Power

17 Dec

I don’t usually wear my hair out in an Afro because of my uneven hair (from shaving the side to be Cassie-like) but when I wore it yesterday, it felt so liberating. Even as a Canadian, I’m well aware of the Afro in the 1960s Civil Rights Movement in the United States. It is a hairstyle that stands out, and stands up proudly.

When I wear my Afro, my mother often bemoans me and complains about how I leave the house with my hair in such a mess–but I am not hiding anything. This is my beautiful hair, in all its splendour, and there is nothing to be ashamed of. My mother calls me once a week to beg me to perm, gericurl or get a wig and I always have to tell her softly that I won’t do that because there’s nothing wrong with my hair.

There is nothing to be afraid of when you embrace your Afro hair, particularly in its Afro style. Without manipulated twist-out curls and Kinky Curly Curling Custard ringlets, it’s simply the most natural form of expression of self. Going out of the house and showing the world you are not afraid of what they will think of your Afro demonstrates Black Pride, love for oneself and confidence. Long life the Afro.

 

Leave a Reply

