What Products I Use

9 Dec

Right now in my hair regimen I am using Donna Marie’s Dream Curling Cream 160z ($18.00) as my main hair ‘cream’. So basically after a twist out or right before bed, I put some of this product on my hair. It is enriched with fair trade, organic Cupuacu Butter, Macadamia Butter and Aloe Vera and smells really nice. It is supposed to be a curl enhancing and styling creme.

For oils, day to day I use ANU which has a plethora of amazing oils like sweet almond oil, grape seed oil, castor oil, vitamin E, frankincense, myrrh, cinnamon, black pepper and cardamom. The scent is VERY strong but overall these are nice oils. I’m not sure how helpful the product is overall, but I wanted to try something different than just coconut oil. I bought this and Donna Marie’s Dream Curling Cream at Honey Fig (Yonge and Sheppard, TORONTO)

Speaking of Honey Fig, for my wash and go finger curls and my afro puffs I use Honey Fig’s Calypso Coconut Curl Cream ($28.00) which is supposed to make my hair more curly, obviously. I assume since it’s called Calypso Coconut it has coconut as an ingredient. It holds finger curls nicely when wet and without a crunchy, hard hold. I wouldn’t buy it again though, as it doesn’t really do anything special for the price.

Daily to soften my hair I use a cheap aloe vera gel and distilled water (in a spray bottle) with a bit of the ANU oil blend in it. This helps bring out my natural curls and makes it easier to plait my hair for bed. I use aloe vera as a gel too, to smooth down the front of my hair in an afro puff. The aloe is VERY moisturizing.

I am still using the J/A/S/O/N conditioner and now I’m using the Nature’s Gate Natural Jojoba Shampoo ($7.50, health food stores) which smells AMAZING and is so clear and nice. Beware–it does contain sulfates :(. I use it sparingly anyways–like once a week–if even. Since my conditioner is jojoba-based too, I feel like I’m getting a lot out of jojoba which is very good for your hair. Once I’m done these products (which have been very nice) I hope to buy:

1. Jamaican castor oil

2. Afroveda Strength Blueberry and Pomengranate Silk n Strengthen Spray $28.00

3. Uncle Funky Daughter’s Supercurl 8 oz $30.00

4. Phyto 9 Daily Ultra Nourishing Botanical Cream-Ultra Dry Hair  (a leave in treatment)

I also use olive oil for hot oil treatments and generic conditioner as a deep conditioning agent along with ANU oils.

Leave a Reply

