Vitamins for Hair

9 Dec

Buying hair products for your hair is not the only way to grow it and keep it healthy and shiny! Vitamins also help nourish and grow your hair from the inside of your body. I drink 8 glasses of water a tea (and 2 cups of herbal tea…ginger and green) and take a multi-vitamin and for the winter, Vitamin D.

Vitamin D, is known as the “hair” vitamin. I take it to combat winter’s blues but I’m okay if it helps my hair too! It was only recently discovered that this vitamin D precursor is in many more tissues than bone, and skin is one of them. Vitamin D metabolism in the epidermis begins with 7- dehydrocholesterol, which produces both cholesterol and previtamin D3. This generates calcitriol when the skin is exposed to UV. Calcitriol is jolly useful with antimicrobial activity (ever noticed how acne clears up in the sun), prevention of several skin deseases, protection from UV damage, and protection of the hair follicle.

Myhairgrowthvitamins.com states the best vitamins for hair growth are Vitamin E, Vitamin B2, B5, B6, B9, B12, Vitamin C and Vitamin H a.k.a biotin. If you are taking a multivitamin, make sure they contain these ingredients for optimal hair growth–and drink those eight glasses of water!

I’m sure as a child with Caribbean parents, you, along with me, had to swallow nasty cod liver oil. Well, keep swallowing it! Cod liver oil is really beneficial when it comes to hair growth. Cod liver oil has all the difficult to obtain B vitamins. If you know of any other super foods for hair, let me know!

I would definitely say buy a couple bottles of vitamins from a health food store or your local pharmacy and begin drinking more of that good H20. I cannot say I notice a huge difference yet but I have only started vitamins within the last few months and my hair has been considerably healthier since I begun caring for it properly in January 2010 (yes almost one year!). It sure won’t hurt!

Leave a Reply

