The Growing Happens OvernightL

9 Dec

Like most naturals, I protect my hair with a silk hair cover and keep my ends protected at night. On lazy days, I just put my hair in a hasty bun , slap on some moisturizing cream and call it a night but 5-6 days out of the way I usually take time to either elaborately plait or twist my hair for the next day, especially if I’m going somewhere nice or to work. Despite how curly my hair is in the morning, I don’t leave it out like that *in the winter now because of the snow, dry and cold climate, and wind. I have my hair in an afro puff and cover my hair or in a bun (and usually covered, most of the times).

 

Flat Twists Help Me Oil My Scalp

Flat Twists Help Me Oil My Scalp

 

Even at home, if I’m not doing anything, I will quickly spritz some water and Donna Marie cream and pull my hair back into some twists. (Two or three). My fiancee calls me “Pippi Longstocking”. If you’re not going anywhere, why leave your hair out to get dry at home? It’s a good idea to moisturize it and leave it up, until you go out again.

I am preparing my hair for bedtime with bobby bins

I am preparing my hair for bedtime with bobby bins

It isn’t glamorous to put your hair up like this, and I’m no hair expert, but I think hair does its growing when you’re not rocking out your fabulous s twists outs! I try to spend the majority of my time with my hair up in twists or in little buns–without me manipulating it too much. I spent 10-15 minutes getting my hair ready for bed, and I hope the 7-9 hours it spends in twists helps retain the length and helps it grows.

Leave a Reply

