The Journey Reveals Itself

21 Nov

Sorry I haven’t been posting, ladies, but I have a lot of different hairstyles from finger twists to bantu knots to post shortly as well as info about Toronto’s only natural hair store Honey Fig and their natural products (yes, they sell Kinky Curly and Mixed Chicks!) 🙂

I just wanted to quickly write how the journey of natural hair is profound. You not only learn so much about your hair each day you care for it, and see it transform in front of your eyes from something mystifying to something you are proud of. It is a part of you–yes, but having control over every part of you is very vital to your self esteem. You may realize your hair grows long, or grows thick or is super curly or has crazy Z kinks. Whatever it is, your healthy mane is YOURS and it’s beautiful.

Even though there are days I have my doubts about being beautiful and accepted with my natural curls, and with friends urging me to wear hair extensions and weaves, I know that my hair is definitely an extension of who I am. I don’t need to hide, I’m not ashamed of who I am. I think I am beautiful the way I am already, and I do not need to cover this up.

 

Soon to come is a picture gallery of some styles I’ve rocked, and protective styles (mostly buns) for the cold, Canadian winter. Of course, with websites like naturallycurly.com it is SO easy to stay motivated and try new styles. Moving from the easy afro puff to silk scarf styles and finger twists, I feel more liberated than ever 😀

Leave a Reply

