Hair Spurt

17 Oct

Hair is definitely a mystery. For months, my hair has stubbornly been at the same length and refused to grow. I thought perhaps it was annoyed with me for foolishly shaving half my head. (Who did I think I was…Cassie?) But when I least expected it, my hair begun to grow. One day I just looked in the mirror and saw a full head of hair again. There is nothing to describe the utter joy and silent excitement of having natural, kinky black hair growing…actually growing out of your own scalp.

I guess it’s a hair spurt. Maybe it was the quick head massage in the shower or all that aloe gel…but whatever it was, (a seasonal change, maybe?) has made me extra happy to be a natural woman and has instilled a sense of relief and confidence in me.

Relief because we all know long, natural hair is possible. But until we achieve it ourselves, this concept at best, is obscure. Pictures splashed on the Internet and on natural hair forums show us girls just like you and me have kinky gorgeous hair–a bountiful of it. Yet it’s a whole different story when the hair you’ve so carefully oiled and plaited every night actually decides to turn into the curly locks you’ve been ogling for months.

And the confidence is because it’s my own hair, and whether people expect me to leave my house looking a certain way, I know I can leave my house happy and proud of who I am and what I look like. Having growing natural hair doesn’t just make me a believer. It makes everyone a believer. It helps dispel the stupid myths about black hair. Notions like black hair cannot grow long, our natural hair is dirty, and our hair looks/feels like wool.

There is nothing sexier and more amazing than touting around your own hair, and as thousands (maybe millions?) of black women and girls who are foregoing chemical straighteners and weaves will see–black hair is very, very beautiful.

Leave a Reply

