My Tried and True Products

8 Sep

I have coarse, thick “4B” hair and it is usually dry and brittle! I have one quarter of my hair shaved to distinguish myself as a lesbian woman. I was growing my hair but I felt it did not portray me as a lesbian, and I wanted that to be highly visible. I am proud to be natural, and also gay. I am now growing out the shaved part and may/may not shave it down again. I’m still undecided. The other 3/4 of my hair was trimmed down but has steadily been growing and feels healthier than ever. I can attribute this to products I use on a consistent basis:

1. J/A/S/O/N Natural Biotin Shampoo $7.85  

J/A/S/O/N Natural Bioton Conditioner $7.85

I switched from OJON Shampoo/Conditioner ($60.00, Sephora) to JASON because I felt JASON products were more natural and did more for less money. OJON is also an amazing hair product but Jason has left my hair clean and soft, and doesn’t dry it out after like most shampoo/conditioners.
Organic cold-pressed Coconut Oil $9.99

I use coconut oil daily and it is the best moisturizer for my tresses. My hair was drier than the Saharan desert before using coconut oil! I found a $10 bottle at a health food store in Kensington Market but you can find ones as cheap as $2.99 at Oceans Market. I melt it and put it in spray bottles with other products or run some in my hands and put it in my hair. It’s good for damaged hair, and dry hair and ideal for black hair. It is the only oil that penetrates the hair shaft for optimal moisturizing.

Castor Oil

I use castor oil sparingly because it is a thick, sticky oil. I use it to moisturize my dry scalp and roots–not on my whole head. Castor oil helps hair growth and thickens your hair. I use it after I wash my hair for super-soft hair but it is too oily on dry hair as a regular moisturizer. Still, it is an important staple.

Aloe Gel (Natural)

Like JASON products, I buy my all-natural aloe vera gel at Noah’s Health Food Store. It moisturizes and promotes hair growth and keeps your hair so soft and supple. It is so versatile I use it on my face too. It helps prevent split ends too! I use it to soften my hair and as a gel before leaving the house. It “activates” my curls and makes it easier to seal oils like castor and coconut.

Jojoba Oil

Between jojoba and grapeseed oil, I find the light jojoba oil more to my liking. I felt like the grapeseed didn’t do much. I add a few drops into my conditioner for an added punch and rub some in my hair after I come out for shine. I find jojoba oil to be expensive, though, and not essential to black natural hair care. It is a nice treat once in a while though!

Wide Tooth Comb/Pick

I only comb my hair when it is saturated in oils and conditioner, and very wet or it snaps and breaks off. Black women should not comb or brush dry hair. They do not regularly need combs and brushes. These are usually too rough on our fragile hair because of the curl pattern. Wide tooth combs are easiest on our hair and I use a pick for certain styles to elongate the ends and bring my hair to it’s full length before adding products like aloe for bringing out the curls. A comb is fine to part the hair though.

Hair Clips

I use hair clips and bobby pins to protect my ends as much as I can. When I am outside, my hair is out but at home and at night before bed I either twist my hair in two’s or have 6-7 mini buns with my ends protectively clipped so that it can prevent dryness and split ends. I also add extra oil to the ends. Hair clips are so versatile. You can use them to part your hair when washing or when it’s dry to oil your scalp or massage it. And obviously, you can incorporate it in different hairstyles as well!

Occasional products I use:

Organic, natural shea butter, Ojon  Damage Reverse Restorative Hair Treatment $33, Kinky Curly Knot Today Leave-in Conditioner and Detangler, Pantene Curly Deep Conditioner, Extra-Virgin Olive Oil, Grapeseed Oil, Coconut Milk, Carol’s Daughter Tui Oil ($14.99), KeraCare Natural Textures Leave in Conditioner.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Leave a Reply

